Large wide congrats3

Armada Music hits Billboard's Dance Power Players 2019 list in threefold: Maykel Piron, Nadine van Bodegraven and George Hess

March 29, 2019
For many consecutive years, Billboard has been compiling its own annual list of highly influential figures in the dance music industry, honoring those whose efforts helped their respective brands, labels or businesses stay ahead of the curve. Last year’s inclusion of Armada Music CEO Maykel Piron already signified the seven-mile steps Armada Music has been taking as the world’s biggest independent dance music label, and it didn’t stop there.

In the wake of an enormous expansion that saw the Amsterdam-based record label amplify its global presence with new offices and bigger strike teams in some of the biggest dance music territories in the world (e.g. the U.S., the U.K.), no less than three of Armada Music’s main figures made it into Billboard’s Dance Power Players list this year: CEO Maykel Piron, COO Nadine van Bodegraven and U.S. Radio Promoter George Hess.

When asked about their thoughts on their inclusion in the Dance Power Players list, Maykel Piron, Nadine van Bodegraven and George Hess added: “Though it’s amazing for us personally to be among Billboard’s Dance Power Players this year, our inclusion in the list is actually testament to the incredible efforts of the entire team. With their help and that of our artists and partners, we’ve been able to not only cement our position as the world’s biggest independent dance music label, but also to ensure growth across the board, from signing incredible acts and labels to building out our brand across the globe. The future is looking especially bright for us at the moment, and we’ve got a whole bunch of amazing individuals to thank for that.”

In conjunction with the launch of their new Dance Power Players list, Billboard also revealed the results of the second annual Billboard Dance 100, their own artist rankings. This year, nearly a quarter million of votes put six Armada Music artists in the list: Armin van Buuren (#16), Afrojack (#31), W&W (#52), 3LAU (#72), Loud Luxury (#78) and Lost Frequencies (#86).

Privacy Policy
Terms of Use