iTunes Album Of The Week

iTunes Album Of The Week

January 8th, 2008

This Week`s iTunes Album
Markus Schulz – Amsterdam 08

Amsterdam 08 follows in the footsteps of Miami 05 and Ibiza 06, and Markus Schulz couldn’t be happier about its origins – Amsterdam is his spiritual home thanks to the overwhelming passion of the people resident there. ‘I always choose cities that are dear to me for my annual mix compilation’ says Markus. ‘I just love Amsterdam, I feel a real connection there – my friends there are like my family. The people of Holland were one of the first to embrace and accept me and my sound, so it was the natural choice to do the 08 mix there.’

Markus’ brand of dark, melodic trance is in demand the world over; his weekly Global DJ Broadcast radio show is now syndicated to over 30 stations worldwide, his shows have taken in everywhere from Australia to Russia, China to Trinidad, and many other destinations along the way, and 2008 is set to bring more dates in Australia, as well as Asia and South America. Amsterdam 08 is a must-have album for dance fans everywhere, and comprises Markus’ top tracks from 2007 and hot tips for 2008. ‘I really enjoy putting the compilation CDs together,’ says Markus, ‘they’re always a total labour of love and are in my mind all the time. All year I’ll hold back tracks that are just gems for the mix; I’ll play them out here and there over the summer but I’ll save them for the CD. Amsterdam 08 opens a little differently – CD1 starts quite slow by trance standards: 124 bpm, so it sets the mood, similar to when I’m playing extended sets. The atmosphere builds up so that when you get to CD2 it’s full on, middle-of-a-set tempo trance.’

Stand out tracks include 2 Glenn Morrison cuts, (I’ love what he’s doing,’ says Markus, ‘he’s on fire right now!’), the Moonbeam remix of new Lens track, Beyond The Shadows, (‘an amazing discovery for me’), and Avalon by Enmass, as well as the Coldharbour remix of Markus Schulz feat Andy Moor’s Daydream – a stunning slice of melodic trance with truly divine vocals.

Markus, who also runs his own Coldharbour label, is often in Amsterdam for club dates and regularly plays for Armada Music’s events and festivals. ‘I really feel part of this city, it’s so special for me’ he says. ‘This CD is a thank you to everyone there who has supported me over the years, and I hope it becomes a special selection of tunes to everyone who hears it.’

01: Dakota- Amsterdam
02: Leama and James Davis presents Grafiti – Ghettotech
03: Glenn Morrison- Blue Skies With Linda
04: Plastic Angel- Try Walking In My World
05: Lens- Beyond The Shadows (Moonbeam Remix)
06: Glenn Morrison- Rubberband
07: Rex Mundi- Sunrise In Ibiza
08: Marcus Schossow- Mr White (Ruben De Ronde Remix)
09: tyDi- Meet Me in Kyoto
10: Ketho- Silent Room
11: Supuer- Azaleus
12: Destination X – Dangerous (Gareth Emery Remix / Markus Schulz Big Room Reconstruction)
13: Sonic Division- If I had Wings

CD 2:
01: Fulyen- Approach
02: Dakota- Progression
03: Carl & Joni- Foresaken
04: Markus Schulz- Fly To Colors (Carl B Remix)
05: Anton Chernikov- Your Burning Eyes
06: Breakfast & Mike St Jules- Only Two Should Know
07: Markus Schulz feat Andy Moor- Daydream (Coldharbour Remix)
08: Agnelli & Nelson- Sleeping In Airports
09: Bebop- Breakthrough Woodpecker
10: BEN & Mr Pit- More Manners Please
11: Enmass- Avalon
12: Kenneth Tjonasam- Formulation
13: Vision- Entry To Heaven (Benya Remix)